I took a mini holiday, yay! After working 6 days a week for 10 months, I was in need of some time off, so I took some. Jake and I are total rollercoaster junkies, so thought where better to take our mini break than Alton Towers! 

This post is mainly just me sharing pictures with you of our little trip, so I thought I would just give you an overview of it. We went for a couple of days on Monday 13th and Tuesday 14th of June, when it so wonderfully happened to be raining like heavens knows what, but that didn’t stop us from having a good time! Later on the Tuesday the weather did brighten up a bit, so it wasn’t too bad. We stayed in a wonderful little hobbit house in the ‘Enchanted Village’ onsite at Alton Towers, which was magical and overall had a wonderful time.

Our visit involved completing the big 6, including The Smiler, although we were a little bit fearful of this one, an aquarium visit, some virtual reality, expensive food, 6am starts and rain coats. Enjoy!

SAM_4974
Day 1: Up and out at 5am for the 4 hour drive!
SAM_4977
Fish!
SAM_4978
Selfie with the fish!
SAM_4981
Jake really did quite like the fish.
SAM_4987
The place is full of waterfalls!
SAM_4995
Fearful before The Smiler.
SAM_5000
Building the courage and hoping to make it out in one piece.
SAM_5001
Another one, just in case.
SAM_5004
Look at that drop though! Seriously, I loved this, it was my fave.
SAM_5012
Tourist stuff.
SAM_5013
I got wet. I wasn’t happy about it.
SAM_5019
Selfie in the sky.
SAM_5024
and again.
SAM_5025
This little thing was pretty cool.
SAM_5026
Ooooooh.
SAM_5027
Happy couple!

I didn’t actually take that many photos, but we did manage to do all of the big six, The Smiler (made it out in one piece), Oblivion (the one with the verticle drop, which I loved), Thirteen (a letdown), Rita (really fricking quick), Nemesis (basic) and Galactica. Let me tell you about Galactica, it is relatively new, and goodness me you need to go and try it. virtual reality and a rollercoaster rolled into one, it was magical. You wear a headset/goggles with which you see yourself in space, everything which happens in the headset relates to the movement on the rollercoaster, so when you flip upside down through a portal in the virtual reality, you’re flipping upside down on the rollercoaster. It’s insane, go do it.

The scenery around the place is amazing, so many waterfalls and gardens, we did at one point get lost in a garden, for a good hour! The weather was a letdown, but it did improve, and we did get to do it all, so we can’t really complain. We had a great time, and can’t wait to go again!

What’s the best theme park you’ve been too? Are you a rollercoaster junkie like me? Let me know, and as always, chat to me in the comments!

Don’t forget to like my Facebook page and follow me on Instagram and Twitter as well as following my blog to keep updated on what I’m up to next!

blogfooter

 

