Growing up, Studio Ghibli was a big part of my life, like Disney was for most people I guess (although I loved Disney too). Some of my all time absolute favourite films came from Studio Ghibli, and I thought I would share some of those with you. 

For those of you who don’t know, Studio Ghibli is a Japanese animation film studio, best known for its anime feature films, most of which have been dubbed in english. I feel like it is significant to say, although I love Studio Ghibli, all of my favourites are written and/or directed by Hayao Miyazaki. So here we go with a list of my favourite films! 

  1. SPIRITED AWAY
    spiritedaway
    This is my all time favourite film, ever. It’s about a young girl who finds herself trapped in the spirit world, she struggles with the theme of identity throughout and must work out a way to save herself and her parents. This is one of the biggest films Studio Ghibli have released, and I fell in love with it the first time I ever saw it. It’s magical, fun, a tiny bit weird which is always appreciated, and carries some great themes throughout. This is the sort of film that can be interpreted in so many ways, and is considered one of Miyazaki’s greatest works.
  2. HOWL’S MOVING CASTLE
    howlsmovingcastle
    This is such a close call for second, it could so so easily be first. I have previously blogged about the book series by Dianna Wynne Jones, Miyazaki has done such a wonderful job of turning the first book into a wonderful, magical, thrilling animated feature. The artwork within this is so beautiful, as is the beautifully magically romantic story line. This film follows the story of Sophie Hatter, who is cursed by a wicked witch and falls in love with an ‘evil’ wizard, not an ideal life hey?! I adore this film so much.
  3. MY NEIGHBOUR TOTORO
    totoro
    This is one of the sweetest films, following such a cute story of sisters coping with the illness of their mother. They meet some magical spirit creatures along the way and really just have a whole lot of fun! As well as the giggly fun they have with Totoro, there are some emotional moments throughout the film, highlighting the struggles these young girls are going through whilst coping without their mother.
  4. KIKI’S DELIVERY SERVICE
    kiki
    This film really is so much fun, following a coming of age story for a young witch, Kiki. She must move away from home to learn her talents, and meets some great friends along the way. I haven’t got much to say about this one, it’s a load of fun though and I love it.
  5. THE CAT RETURNS
    thecatreturns
    This isn’t a Miyazaki film, thus it surprises me that I like it so much! Again, this film is packed with fun, but the character of ‘Baron’ is so wise and and wonderful that I feel like the film provides you with some valuable life lessons, like don’t get tricked into marrying a cat prince when you’re a human girl, you know.

Really this list could go on forever, Whisper of the HeartFrom up on Poppy HillLaputa, and so on. All of these anime features are just so magical, and I love them all dearly. They’ve been a big part of my life, and they are now being introduced to my little sisters too which makes me very happy. There’s nothing quite like some weird and wonderful fantasy is there?

